ABOUT THE MUSEUM
Passenger service for the Cleveland area stopped in 1965 and the last freight train passed through in 1995. In 2000, the tracks were removed and a walking trail took their place.
Our museum belongs to the City of Cleveland and is named for our former longtime Mayor, Martin T. King, and his wife, Sue. We officially opened in 2009 and today the museum is home to thousands of artifacts, photographs, and documents. Outside, visitors can “walk through history” in our 1941 Illinois Central caboose.
We also house one of the largest O gauge model railroads in the entire southeast region of the country. Our primary mission is to preserve the history of the railroad in Cleveland, Bolivar County, and the Delta. Our secondary mission is fun!